Vote counting for West Bengal's 294 assembly seats underway amid tight security

Counting of votes of the much anticipated West Bengal assembly elections began at 8 am under tight security in 108 counting centres spread across the 23 districts of the state. To keep the security under check, at least 292 observers have been appointed and 256 companies of central forces deployed at the counting centres.

It is to recall, West Bengal had elections in eight phases. The polling was held on March 27, April 01, April 06, April 10, April 17, April 22, April 26, and April 29. All India Trinamool Congress and allies, Sanjukta Morcha comprising Congress and the Left, Bharatiya Janata Party & allies and other parties were in fray. Out of the 294 constituencies, elections were postponed in two seats due to the death of candidates.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.