SMC election: Two former BJP councillors join Trinamool Congress in Siliguri

Siliguri, 28th December: Before the Siliguri Municipal Corporation elections, two former councillors left BJP and CPIM and joined the Trinamool Congress, on Tuesday.

Khushboo Mittal, the former councillor of Ward No. 08, and Dipayan Roy, the former councillor of CPIM in Ward No. 26, joined TMC at the Darjeeling district Trinamool office.

After joining the party, Dipayan Roy said, "I have taken this decision after being inspired by the way Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee is working."

On the other hand, Khushboo Mittal said, “I also want to develop my ward. Even though CPIM won in 2015, not much developmental work was done in Ward No. 08.”

However, the TMC leaders will decide whether the two former councillors will be given tickets in the upcoming polls.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.