Bengal’s 8th Phase Election underway, 38.8% voter turnout till 11 am 

Amid the storming second wave of COVID-19, the eighth phase of the assembly elections in West Bengal began at 7 am on Thursday for 35 seats.

In this phase, 35 Assembly constituencies spread across four districts will go to the polls. Among these, six are in Malda, eleven in Birbhum, eleven in Murshidabad, and seven in Kolkata. Over 84.77 lakh electorates, including 41.21 lakh women and 158 third gender persons, would be casting their votes at as many as 11,860 polling stations.

West Bengal Governor Jagdeep Dhankhar and his wife Sudesh Dhankhar cast their votes at a polling booth in Chowringhee, Kolkata.

Actor and Bharatiya Janata Party leader Mithun Chakraborty voted at a polling station in Kashipur-Belgachia area of North Kolkata on Thursday. “I had never voted so peacefully before. I must congratulate all the security personnel,” he said.

(Internet Inputs)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *