Panchayat Polls: 15 including TMC Booth President resign from post in Tufanganj

Cooch Behar, 14th June: In a significant development following the announcement of Zilla Parishad and Panchayat Samiti candidates for the upcoming Panchayat Polls, 15 party workers, including the booth president, from the Trinamool Congress (TMC) have resigned from their positions. The incident occurred at Booth No. 9/241 of Uttar Balabhut Nayachar area under Balabhut Gram Panchayat in Tufanganj, Cooch Behar.

According to reports, the mass resignation took place on Wednesday, the fifth day of filing nomination papers. The booth president alleged that the candidate selection process favoured by TMC MP Abhishek Banerjee’s Navjoar program led to dissatisfaction among booth officials. The chosen candidate for booth number 9/241 is allegedly involved in corrupt practices, which prompted the party workers to refuse to campaign for this candidate and subsequently resign.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *