Binay Tamang resigns from Gorkha Janmukti Morcha

Darjeeling, 15th July: Gorkha Janmukti Morcha-02 President Binay Tamang, during a press conference today, announced his resignation from the party.

Addressing the media, Tamang who remained politically inactive since the state assembly elections stated that he would now start the third inning of his political journey. However, he denied allegations of him joining the BJP, TMC or his former party under the leadership of Bimal Gurung. 

In the letter addressed to party Central Committee General Secretary Anit Thapa and Vice President Satish Pokhrel, Tamang wrote, "After losing the two consecutive elections 2019 and 2021 it is my moral responsibility to resign from the post of President of Gorkha Janmukti Morcha." Tamang went on to accuse party's officials of playing double standard roles and not being serious in organizational matters during the 2019 and 2021 elections, due to which the party lost and their party's alliance All India Trinamool Congress failed to bag any seats from the region. Tamang further urged the party to abstain from using 'Binay faction' immediately. 

Tearing up, Tamang stated that he did everything possible on his behalf to save GJM during the absence of party founder Bimal Gurung. He said that he would return all the stock of GJM party flag to Gurung, its "original owner".

In 1997, Tamang was made the President of Sadar I Constituency in DGHC. In the year 2007, Tamang joined Gorkha Janmukti Morcha led by Bimal Gurung as the Press and Publicity Secretary till the 10 August 2009. From 11 August 2009 to October 2017, he was made the Assistant General Secretary of GJM. After the political transition in late 2017, Tamang took over the charge as the President of Gorkha Janmukti Morcha after party founder Bimal Gurung went into hiding.

In September 2018, The West Bengal Government appointed the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha (GJM) leader Binay Tamang as the chairman of a new board of administrators to run the Darjeeling hills. In 2019, he stepped down as the Chairman of GTA and fought the State Assembly Election as an independent candidate with the support of AITC, but he lost the election.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.