Coronavirus Pandemic: Darjeeling, Kalimpong and Jalpaiguri districts classified as Orange Zone

To combat the ongoing novel coronavirus pandemic, areas in West Bengal have been divided into Red, Orange and Green zones.
Eleven districts including Darjeeling Jalpaiguri and Kalimpong have been classified as orange zones.

The orange zone is relatively stable than the red zones in terms of the number of cases recorded which may or may not peak in future. Strict restrictions are in place in the orange zone areas as well.

Other districts placed under the orange zone are South 24 Parganas, Hoogly, Paschim Medinipur, Purba Bardhhaman, Paschim Bardhaman, Nadia, Murshidabad and Malda.

Meanwhile, Kolkata, North 24 Parganas, Howrah and Purba Mednipur, were on Monday delineated as red zones, or 'hotspots'.

According to Union Health Ministry's definition, red zones are places which have been witnessing a significant number of coronavirus infections, due to which authorities have put strict restrictions on movement of public and traffic in these areas.

Fortunately, eight districts in the state, including Alipurduar, Cooch Behar, North Dinajpur, South Dinajpur, Birbhum, Bankura, Purulia and Jhargram, have been placed under green zones, or non-hotspot areas. These areas have reported relatively few coronavirus cases, when compared to red and orange zones.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.