BGPM secures dominant victory in Panchayat elections in Kurseong Block

Kurseong, 11th July: The results of the Gram Panchayat election counting in Kurseong block have revealed a resounding triumph for the Bharatiya Gorkha Prajatantrik Morcha (BGPM). The party’s candidates have emerged victorious in multiple constituencies, establishing a firm grip on the majority of Gram Panchayats in the region.

In Kurseong St. Mary’s-1, the BGPM accomplished an exceptional feat by sweeping all 10 seats across the 10 booths. Similarly, in St. Mary’s-2, BGPM secured wins in 5 seats, with 3 candidates running unopposed, while the remaining 3 seats were claimed by the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP). Moving to St. Mary’s-3, BGPM secured 8 seats, followed by the BJP with 2 seats, and an independent candidate with 5 seats out of the 15 booths.

The trend continued in other areas of Kurseong Block, with BGPM achieving significant victories. In Pandu, out of the 11 seats, BGPM secured 8 seats, while the BJP claimed victories in 3 seats. Similarly, in Sukna, the BGPM emerged victorious in 10 out of the 13 booths, while the BJP secured 3 seats. In Shibkhola, the independent candidates won in 4 booths, while the BJP claimed victory in 2 booths out of the 6.

Further analysis of the election results in Ghayabari-2 revealed the BJP winning 4 seats, followed by the Gorkha National Liberation Front (GNLF) and BGPM with 2 seats each, and an independent candidate securing 1 seat. Similarly, in Ghayabari-3, BGPM triumphed in 7 seats, while 2 seats were won by independent candidates.

In Mahanadi near Kurseong, out of the 7 booths, BGPM secured victories in 5 seats, the BJP claimed 1 seat, and an independent candidate won 1 seat. The overall outcome strongly indicates that BGPM candidates have emerged victorious in most of the 14 Gram Panchayats in the Kurseong block, ensuring their majority on the board.

Furthermore, in Sitong Gram Panchayat-2, all 6 panchayat member seats were won by BGPM candidates. Additionally, out of the 15 gram panchayats in Sitong-3, BGPM secured 3 seats, while an independent candidate won 1 seat.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *