Lok Sabha Elections 2024 commences on April 19, vote counting on June 4

News Desk: On Saturday, the Election Commission of India has announced the dates of polling at Vigyan Bhawan in Delhi. The Chief Election Commissioner Rajiv Kumar has announced the date of the 18th Lok Sabha Polls which will be held in 7 phases in 543 constituencies. The results would be declared on June 4.

Reportedly, voting will be held in West Bengal in 7 phases. In addition, voting will also be held in 7 phases in Uttar Pradesh and Bihar.

The first phase of elections will begin from April 19. Voting will be held on April 19 at four centers in North Bengal. In the first phase the voting will be held in Cooch Behar, Alipurduar and Jalpaiguri.

On April 26, the second phase of voting will be held in Raiganj, Darjeeling and Balurghat. On May 7, the third phase of voting will be held in Malda North, Malda South and Jangipur, Murshidabad. Subsequently, on May 13, the fourth phase of voting will be held in Berhampore, Krishna Nagar, Ranaghat, Bolpur, Birbhum, East Bardhaman, Bardhaman Durgapur, and Asansol.

On May 20, the fifth phase of voting will be held in Howrah, Uluberia, Hooghly, Serampore, Barrackpore, Bangaon, and Arambagh. On May 25, the sixth phase of voting will be held in Kathi, Tamluk, Ghatal, Purulia, Bankura, Bishnupur, Medinipur, and Jhargram.

On June 1, the seventh phase of voting will be held in Kolkata North, Kolkata South, Dumdum, Barasat, Jaynagar, Jadavpur, Diamond Harbour, Mathurapur, and Basirhat.

This year the number of registered voters is around 97 crores. There are more than 1.5 lakh polling stations. The Election Commissioner stated further that by-elections will be held in 26 assemblies of the country.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *