Home / News / General / Ram Nath Kovind Becomes 14th President Of India

Ram Nath Kovind Becomes 14th President Of India

NDA candidate Ram Nath Kovind has won the Presidential Elections, making him the 14th President of India. Kovind received 66% of the votes.

Meera Kumar, the candidate of the opposition, received 34% of the votes. Meera fell short of 3.34 votes, as Kovind collected 702044 and Meera got 367314 votes.

Kovind had the support of 522 members of the Parliament. Meera Kumar was supported by 225 MPs, while the votes of 21 MPs had been cancelled.

Apart from the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha members, the state legislature members also cast their vote in the Presidential Elections.

The new President will be sworn-in to his post on July 25.

Check Also

Memorandum submitted in Siliguri Municipal Corporation in support of 10 point demands

In support of ten point demands, Congress’s Siliguri 40 number Ward Committee has handed over …