Home / News / New courses in 12 colleges

New courses in 12 colleges

Siliguri, June 21: The North Bengal University has granted permission to 12 colleges under it to start new under-graduate courses in arts, commerce and science streams for the academic session this year.

Nupur Das, the varsity’s under-graduate council secretary, said the colleges had applied to the university in March to introduce the under-graduate courses from this academic session and permission was granted this month.

“Twelve colleges had applied to start different courses in BA, BSc and BCom in both honours and general programmes. The colleges can start admitting students for the new courses for the academic session starting mid-July,” Das said.

“Permission has been given to start honours and general courses in chemistry, zoology, botany, physics math, geography, sociology, Hindi, Sanskrit, education, philosophy and commerce,” Das added.

The colleges that will offer the new courses are Naxalbari College, Naxalbari, Munshi Prem Chand and Surya Sen College in Siliguri, P.D. Women’s College, Jalpaiguri, Cluny Women’s College, Kalimpong, Vivekananda College, Samuktala Sidhu Kanhu College and Nani Bhattacharya Smriti College, Alipurduar, Parimal Mitra Smriti College, Malbazar, Raiganj College, Raiganj, Government General Degree College, Gorubathan, and Government General Degree College in Pedong.

“Laboratory-based subjects can admit up to 20 students each in honours and general courses. For humanities general, colleges can take 150 pupils. For BCom honours, a college can take up to 75 and for general 150 students can be taken in,” a source said.

Check Also

Programs organized on Kanyashree Day in Coochbehar

Various programs have been organized in Coochbehar district in the celebration of Kanyashree Day. Kanyashree …