Jammu and Kashmir officially cease to be a state

New Delhi, 31st October: On the occasion of the birth anniversary of Sardar Vallabhbhai Patel, Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh became Union Territories, on Wednesday midnight.

A Gazette declaring Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh as two Union Territories has been issued by the Central Government with the signature of President Ram Nath Kovind.

Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh became two separate states, from today, after the Parliament revoked the special status enjoyed by it under Article 370 on 5th August.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.